This Morning

This Morning is ITV’s flagship daytime show, airing weekdays between 10.30am and 12.30pm.

It first broadcast on October 3, 1988, from the studios at Liverpool’s Royal Docks, with presenters Richard Madeley and Judy Finnigan at the helm.

The married couple left the show in 2001, moving to Channel 4 to host teatime show Richard & Judy.

In 2002, Phillip Schofield took over as the male anchor of This Morning – by now based on London’s South Bank – partnering with Fern Britton.

She was replaced in 2009 by Holly Willoughby, who had been working with Phillip on ITV entertainment show Dancing On Ice since 2006.

Phillip and Holly currently present the show from Monday through to Thursday, with husband and wife duo Eamonn Holmes and Ruth Langsford taking over on Fridays.

Throughout the week, the main hosts are supported by guest presenters, including Rylan Clark-Neal and Alison Hammond.

The magazine-style show covers topics as diverse as cookery, celebrity and showbiz, health, gardening, style and beauty, real life and current affairs.

Famous guests who have graced the sofa include Prince Charles, PM Theresa May and Jamie Foxx.

As part of This Morning’s 25th anniversary celebrations, an October 2013 episode was broadcast live from Albert Dock in Liverpool. Presenters Phillip Schofield, Eamonn Holmes, Holly Willoughby and Ruth Langsford were joined by original hosting duo Richard Madeley and Judy Finnigan as part of the TV special.

Fern Britton did not return to make an appearance but Keith Lemon filled in to present the weather from the show’s famous floating weather map.

In April 2018, This Morning moved production from the South Bank in London to the newly-renovated Television Centre.

This Morning has won 12 National Television Awards, for Best Daytime Programme and Factual Entertainment Programme, and regularly pulls in around one million viewers.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »